Going against the grain

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going against the grain

Im obviously new to the forum and new to DC training.
    I have been lifting hard for about 3 years and at 37 years old I have had great success. I started at 205lbs got up to 250lbs and i now sit at 240lbs @ 5'-11".
    Just finished a Hatfield peaking program and was happy with the results.
    425 bench
    500 squat
    515 dead.
    255 shoulder press

Previously I rotated periodization with rest pause training so I am familiar with the concept. Quite surprised I didn't find DC training sooner. Anyway on with it.....

I would like to say that after reading Dantes posts, I am impressed with his training principles and who he is as a person. I love going against the grain and using less volume. Jonny teenager and Jo gym rat look at me perplexed while Im benching 405, in and out of the gym in an hour, and they train chest for 3 hours twice a week and haven't added any strength in 2 years. I also find it interesting how many people study my routine now that im a DC disciple.

In the spirit of going against the grain, I have started my wife on DC training. I keep her strict to form and I monitor her safety at all times. Her functional strength has increased dramatically. Her exposure to lifting has been minor at best. We don't lift for bodybuilding or power lifting meets. We train to beat the man in the mirror. We train because the barbell is the enemy. We train for the sole purpose of the lift itself. It is a passion unsurpassed.

So for anyone who reads this.
    IN MY OPINION ONLY
    -DC is for anyone who takes this seriously....SERIOUSLY.
    -don't bastardize the program...you don't need to.
    -do the stretches...they are actually important.
    -read everything Dante as written, it is actually important.
    I will continue on this thought in a later post......

Also
    -after starting DC I have hit 3 new PR on different lifts. (for reps)