Belt Squat Machine for DC?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Belt Squat Machine for DC?

My new gym has a belt squat machine. I've never used one before, so I was wondering if it could be used as a DC quad exercise. How do you get a heavy weight into position on it? Is this an exercise that you need a spotter for?

I think it would be a good movement for quads. But up to what weight does the stack goes ? I need to ask yourself if you can make big weight jumps on it long term. If you can then you should use it. If not then you have a good alternative for a quad widowmaker.
    "If you're ready to do DC, you're not gonna give a flying f*(k about fatigue from the previous exercise. You get under the bar and kill it, each and every time." - homonunculus

"Nothing better than coming to IM and seeing a Wall of Text next to that big Tricep pic." - Lonnie123

“Hateful to me as the gates of Hades is that man who hides one thing in his heart and speaks another.” - Homer

The scale doesn't show a number. When he steps on it, it simply reads: Big Mother Fucker. - Skip

Comment

The particulars of using the machine is something I'd inquire into at the gym itself, but that's a GREAT option to have for DC training. I'd rotate that one in quite often, as it will allow you to have a non-low back stressful leg day, which will open you up for more deadlift varieties for back thickness and/or hamstrings.

-S
      The Book Has Arrived!
      The Book Has Arrived!

Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a pristine, well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, used up, worn out, and shouting, "Holy #$&^%$^... What a ride!!!"

www.TrueNutrition.com

2012 NPC Master's Nationals HW 5th. Mid-USA HW & Overall
      2010 NPC Jr. USA HW 4th, Pacific USA Heavy 2nd
      2009 NPC Mr. Arizona HW & Overall, Jr. Nationals HW 16th, Smoked at USA's

Comment

They also have a power squat machine. How would that do as a DC quad exercise?

Comment