Question on Negative

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on Negative

I have been doing DC training for a while (took 2 years off when armwrestling). I totally geeked out on all the info and posts over the years but saw a couple things and had a question.

Does EVERY rest pause "mini-set" end in a slow negative, or is it just the last rep on the last RP set for the exercise. For example

Incline press: 225x10, x5, x2(slow 30 second negative on last rep)

The above is how I always have been doing it. Am I totally wrong?

I do not believe that the negative is a required part of the DC set but an option. I could be wrong but I don't think I am.

Anyone else?

Skip

Facebook: Skip Hill
    Instagram: @intensemuscle
    YouTube: TEAMSKIP
    TikTok: @intensemuscle

For Training Inquiries: [email protected]

Use discount code "SKIP" and get your TEAM SKIP protein here: www.TrueNutrition.com/TEAMSKIPblend

Comment

That's correct about the above exercise
      But it's exercise dependent

My understanding is its more of an isometric hold...
      The thing to remember is its not on every exercises

For instance rack chins it's reccomended to get partials 15-20 (or 30) after resting after your last mini set

Obviously squats variations, hacks, leg presses, stiff leg variation, deadlift variations, and bent row/free standing row variations (I even found upright rows to be tough on my joints when trying to hold that shit up) are going to potentially be risky to try to control a static hold

But you'll also notice that these are the exercises that are
      1.Prescribed more than one set (back thickness,and quads for instance get 2 straight sets 6-8 and 10-12 ish are a good guide for back thickness, and 4-8 and 20 plus balls to the wall for legs I believe was the origional rep ranges listed) *note I'm going from memory