Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help a Muslim out...

Hey guys,
    Gotta question on diet (not your typical "check out my diet" thread). I'm Muslim, and maybe some of you have heard of Ramadan. Well, it's a month of fasting during the day (no food or water while the sun is up). Sun goes down, you can eat and drink as much as you want. My schedule is such that I cannot work nights and eat all night and sleep all day. This year Ramadan falls in the month of August, and those are going to be some LONG days.

I was wondering if any of you have delt with this before or maybe you've trained clients who are Muslim and have delt with this. I'm a DC trainer, but my diet is going to have to change.

Here was what I'm thinking:

Training wise - take a long (1 month) cruise of lifting straight sets no R/P.

Nutrition wise - LOTS of Casein in the morning before the fast, with STRICTLY HIGH FAT/HIGH PROTEIN breakfast. Fast all day (no food or water), then hit the whey once sun sets with some fast+mod acting carbs. Train, then eat as much as I can fit in.

I am totally aware that this does not comply with DC eating plans, but it's only 1 month.

Just wondering if anyone has any input or experience with this.

Thanks in advance guys.

JJ

I think there is an element of common sense to be considered here. You are going to eat a load of food (high in protein) and not drink water all day for a month. You are also going to wreck your metabolism this way too. I wouldn't be surprised if you end up putting a bunch of fat doing this instead of maintaining. I think you would be better off just going for a "full break" and just use that as your extended cruise every year.
    2008 DC Journal
    Use the code ECH436 at the checkout www.TrueProtein.com and save

Comment