Question about Back Thickness..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Back Thickness..

Why are deadlifts and Rows in the same group of exercises? deadlifts primarily work the erector muscle (the one that goes along your spinal cord), while barbell rows work your rhombs and lats?

True, the primary muscles targeted by deadlifts are the spinal erectors but the movement also seems to work the whole back quite heavily. In fact, there are only a few major muscles in the human body that are not heavily worked in the deadlift.
    Last edited by U-Hulk; 08-21-2004, 09:14 AM.

Comment

I agree with U-Hulk. Deads and Rack Deads done properly work the whole back region. They produce thick backs, bro. Period.
      CrossFit Champions
      Champions Combat Arts

Comment

good responses, thanks guys sorry i am new to doggcrapp.. heheh

Comment

Originally posted by losercore
          good responses, thanks guys sorry i am new to doggcrapp.. heheh
          Don't apologize for having a good question. It's just as important to understand the 'why' as it is the 'how.'
          CrossFit Champions
          Champions Combat Arts

Comment

i have to agrewe also. my traps and upper back always feel destroyed the day after deadlifts, as well as the erectors
            My style is impetuous, my defense is impregnable. I'm unna eat your style, i'm unna eat your style's kids.

Comment

I love deadlifts.
              23 years old, 6'3", 240lbs :showoff:

430 strapped deadlift
              255 belted squat for reps :fresty:
              225 incline BB :fresty:

GETTING THERE!

Comment

Originally posted by losercore
                Why are deadlifts and Rows in the same group of exercises? deadlifts primarily work the erector muscle (the one that goes along your spinal cord), while barbell rows work your rhombs and lats?
                I had the same question in my mind when I first started the DC routine - but I did not ask anyone.