No announcement yet.

Squat/Quad Question. DCers please read!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Squat/Quad Question. DCers please read!

I've been lifting for 10+ years mostly tagging along with the spouse, HATING squats. The Munster found DC training about 6 months ago & we've scrapped the old stuff & been lifting heavy. I hated squats because I wasn't going low & they killed my knees. Now that we're going deep I love them & have been going up in weight steadily.

The question/dilemma: My back side (butt) is much stronger than my quads & I have a hard time feeling the workout in my quads at all. I feel that my quads are holding me back in the weight I could be squatting. The Munster is sore all over his legs the two days after we squat, but I'm not. Yes, I know go up in weight to get sore, but that's the problem. I'm lifting as much as I can (the lower range of the squat is solid), but once I get to that spot where the majority of the work shifts to the quads I'm immobile.

Would partials (the upper range of the movement, little hip involvement) at the end of the set help? Or would I be looking at knee problems? Have any of you dealt with this? Have any of you that train folks dealt with this and how was progress made?

Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    TLM
    "The problem is not that there are problems. The problem is expecting otherwise and thinking that having problems is a problem." -
    Theodore Rubin

Mod @ Proactivehealthnet

Front squats *although out of my rotation now* hit my quads dead on.

Comment

Honestly,l I have never felt squats all that much in my legs, but I do know that they make your quads grow. I would say as long as you are getting nice and deep and going heavy I would not worry too much about it. Remember. you always have the leg presses and/or the hacks on the rotation to isolate the quads a bit better anyway if you are worried about it.