Couple newbie questions about DC workout

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Couple newbie questions about DC workout

Hey everyone. I've actually been browsing this site for a few weeks now and just now got around to registering. I've been working out for almost three years now (5'11, 170 pounds). While I've definitely put on some muscle (was a scrawny wuss before), my weight barely went up and I'm not as "big" as I hoped to be by now. I've been looking for a new workout to try and I want to give doggcrapp's routine a run.

I've spent many hours reading this forum and a couple of dc's word documents (including the 300+ page one). I'm still preparing my new routine and I have a couple questions regarding his workout. If someone could please bear with my newbness, I'd appreciate it

1. Are the rest pause reps basically 8-second reps? Say I'm doing incline smith for 15 reps RP (8+4+3). Each rep I push the bar up quickly but then slowly lower it so that the negative portion is 7-8 seconds. Then after doing 8 reps, I take 15 deep breaths and continue. I originally thought the "rest pause" name came to be because of the 15-breath-rest part.

2. On the "static hold" part of the exercise, do you do the hold on the final rep or do you rack, rest, and then hold? I'm assuming the first but have to make sure. Sounds like hell!!

3. Assuming rest pause is a 8-second rep, do you do your warm-ups rest paused also?

4. Do I need 3 exercises for every muscle group? Does anyone here do a workout involving only 2 exercises per muscle group? (Day 1,2,3,4,repeat instead of Day 1,2,3,4,5,6,repeat)

Any answers, comments would be greatly appreciated.