Muscle fibres and DC-training!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Muscle fibres and DC-training!

I have problems with the compound movements for chest becasuse of my fiber type! My chest muscles have fast twitch fibres and triceps slow twitch fibres! So when doing heavy presses my arms fail because my triceps can't generate the force, and when doing a lighter weight my chest gives up because of fatigue!

So a "high" rep RP is impossible!

I usually do incline presse and pec flyes for chest, and seated dips and triceps extension for triceps! In an ideal situation I would want to do just compound movements!

Any advice?

Actually Tricep fibers are mostly fast twitch fibers. I recall years ago when I studied anatomy that is what I was taught....I would be interested in learning what is taught today.

Fast twitch fibers usually respond to heavy, low rep work.(Up to 12 reps or so)

IMO you should change your tricep program. Try some weighted dips, skull crushers, over head dumbell extentions (two handed, one heavy as hell dumbell). These are heavy compound movements-especially the body dips. The seated dips you are doing is going to be too light to really stimulate muscle growth IMO.
    If memory serves me correct muscles of the calves and forearms are slow twitch. Quads, lats, chest, bi and tri are primarily fast twitch.
    You mentioned that when doing presses your arms fail. I suppose you are talking about bench presses and DB presses,flat and incline.
    IMO to effectively hit the pecs and reduce tricep involvement it is imperitive to go with a fairly wide grip (nothing too ridiculous though) and to arch your spine. This will situate your pecs for more involvement in presses.