Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on Joe Defranco WSFSB3

Hello all, here is a little background/history:

I'm 19 yo, 6 ft ~195 lbs. Currently cutting until 10% bf (bw 180-185).

Been lifting on/off for ~4 years. Have used a lot of programs, basic 5x5 templates, WSFSB (although I don't think I really followed it properly because I was a noob), 5day BBing splits, 4day BBing splits, etc.

Got more into bodybuilding this past year and learned about lots of principles in that domain, constant tension, time under tension, cycling volume, etc etc. I also finally learned how to use mind muscle connection to concentrate on specific muscle groups, a skill I had always been deficient in.

Anyway I recently got interested in the idea of training more like an athlete with bodybuilding as an afterthought.

For anyone who uses the Westside method or even Defranco's version, what have your experiences been?

also, how should a diet change for an athlete vs. a bodybuilder? also how should nutrition look on off days (no lifting) for an athlete?

Comment

Some goals:

185-190 lbs bodyweight (very low body fat)
      365 ATG Olympic Front Squat
      30+ Wide grip pullups in a row
      DB Rows/Flat Chest Presses @ 120 lb DBs for reps
      36-40" vertical, dunk a basketball

Comment

I really like the WS4SB3, and in general am a fan of the conjugate method overall. I experienced very good progress with the program, and learned a LOT about weak points in my lifts and my strength.

I didn't experience muscle growth (and didn't expect to), but I also used the program in caloric deficit although my macros were tailored for a recomp.
        You're perfect, yes it's true. But without me...you're only you.

Comment

Originally posted by bmp View Post

Anyway I recently got interested in the idea of training more like an athlete with bodybuilding as an afterthought.