Meet newb...need pointers.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Meet newb...need pointers.

So I got the itch to compete. I was going to wait until Q2-Q3 '12 but I found this one very close to me that I want to do. I have never done a meet before.

http://www.usapowerlifting.com/entry...cEntryForm.pdf

I need some guidance...

I don't have a singlet...can anyone give me a good place to get one that I can get by the meet date? Are knee sleeves allowed? Should I buy deadlift socks? How early should I get there if weigh ins are 6:30-8:30? What food should I bring?

Anything else????

If you have a high school or college nearby, you can try contacting one of the coaches and see if they have some old practice singlets lying around.
    Other places for singlets:
    http://www.titansupport.com/products/other-suits
    http://tinyurl.com/5wzw5

"Knee sleeves 30 cm in length are also legal and the medical/surgical sleeves are also an option. A combination of the two is strictly forbidden. Neoprene may be “synthetic” rubber but is only acceptable in the knee sleeve."
    Also:
    "Raw/Unequipped lifting is defined as using only the following gear and accessories as previously described above:
    (a) non-supportive singlet and shirt
    (b) briefs
    (c) socks
    (d) belt
    (e) shoes
    (f) commercial wrist wraps
    (g) knee sleeve"
    Source: http://usapowerlifting.com/liftersco...LHandbook2.pdf

They will check the sleeves you have to make sure they're legal anyway at check in. I would get to weigh-ins just before 6:30. It's a lot less stressful to get all that crap done when there aren't a bunch of anxious people there waiting. I would wear knee high socks for deadlift if you want to keep your shins from bleeding all over the bar. As for food, I have always kept to some normal food that I usually eat and then some that can be metabolized quickly. What is everyone else's thoughts on this?