Coaching ques

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coaching ques

As i'm new to PL and at the end of my 3rd wave of 5/3/1 (on my deload week) I don't have a coach or anything, and I know there are a lot to the lifts as far as technique is involved. I really try to focus on the technical aspects during my deload week when it's easy to think about. Here are the ques i've been trying to use for the lifts, please feel free to critique or add.

Squat:

squeeze bar
    Pinch shoulder blades together (bar sitting on lower portion of traps)
    drive head/neck back into the bar
    push stomach out (holding breath)
    Chest out
    spread the floor with your feet (driving with your hips and glutes? this is the one que that i've heard but don't really feel or get)

Bench:
    Arch back hard
    squeeze bar
    pinch shoulder blades together
    Bring bar just below the sternum pushing your belly out to meet the bar on the descent
    Try to bend the bar (tucking the elbows on the descent)
    On the ascent keep tight, stabilizing/driving with your legs and trying to spread/pull the bar apart

Deadlift:
    I really don't have much clue for ques on this... I pull from a conventional stance, I remember there was a thread on here a while ago, but I can't remember the title.

I typically set up with my feet shoulder width or slightly closer, hands just outside my knees.

I know to get set up with your feet, grip the bar, and have some tension on the bar (taking out the slack) the to drive through the middle/heal of the foot with your legs pulling the bar back into you. I also believe you want to get set up with your shoulders directly over the bar?

I do all my lifting completely raw, no straps, wraps or belt if that matters.

Thanks for any help or links.
    -2013 USAPL Michigan State Championships 198lb Raw Mens Open, 1st Place (1217 total)
    -2013 USAPL Texas State Championships
    198 Raw Mens Open, 2nd place (1216 total)
    -2012 USAPL Longhorn Open