Cherry Poppin'

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cherry Poppin'

So I've been fighting myself to start a journal on here for about 2 weeks now and decided to do it. This will be my first online journal hence the title.

Some stats:

24 years old
    6'1"
    280 lbs

All lifts are raw (no knee wraps) and natural:

S - 500 (10/29/15)
    B - 405 (12/31/15)
    D - 585 (12/28/15)

Two summers ago I was laid up with an internal organ issue for 3 months. I went from about 270 to 200 lbs in the course of 6 weeks. I came back weak as hell. I was utilizing the typical "bro" 4 day a week training when I came back. After floundering around and being pissed off about my loss of strength, I decided to go back to basics and run Starting Strength.

I ran it for about 3 months with success. I then switched to 5/3/1 after I got sick of the 90 minute workouts three times a week. I have been running 5/3/1 with good success since March of 2015. I got pretty strong and added a decent bit of size.

The issue I am currently dealing with is that I am too fat. I have gone from 250 lbs as of May 2015 to 280 lbs currently. I have recently lowered my calories and will continue to adjust in an attempt to get back down to around 250 lbs.

The weight is a huge issue with my deadlift as it fucks up my leverages and makes it harder to pull conventional since carrying around my gut puts enough stress on my lower back. I have been pulling sumo for 2-3 months except for the 1RM I tested a couple of weeks ago. The weight has helped with my squat and bench though so it is quote the Catch 22.

I am balls deep in reading 5th Set by Swede Burns and I might start running it soon. I am hoping to be able to hire him as a coach this coming summer as his gym is only 45 minutes away from where I go to school.

TODAY'S TRAINING:

5/3/1 Cycle #13; Deload Week

Deadlift (Sumo) - 3x5 @ 225, 275, 330

45 degree Back Extensions - 3x5 @ bodyweight

Bike - 2 minute warmup