Road to my second show

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Road to my second show

I've been on here awhile but haven't posted much. I've been training for about 6 years steady but I've done it on and off since around 13 years old. My diet has been very inconsistent, well shitty for the most part, but was able to make progress pretty easily. Problem is I got fat in the process. I've wanted to compete since I was in high school but I never committed. I always put it off thinking I needed to get bigger. This year I realized with that mentality it would never happen and decided it was now or never. My career was uncertain at the time. I had no idea what I was going to do after the Air Force or if I was even getting out. It was the worst possible time to take on a show, but at the same time my anger towards the Air Force doctors gave me a focus and determination that made it a great time to do this (as long as I didn't think about my finances ha)!
    I got with someone I trusted, you all should know him as Fade, and got to work cleaning up my diet. At first, I just wanted to recomp and get into striking distance of a show. When I contacted him I was 217 lbs at 5'4". I made pretty quick progress and decided on a show at about 18 weeks out. I ended up dropping 55 lbs and around 10 inches off my waist. I competed at the NPC All Star Championships last weekend and ended up 5th in novice, third in masters and I'm waiting on feedback for my placing in the open (didn't make top 5 there). My next show I plan on coming in bigger and much leaner by staying lean this offseason. My lower back and hams hurt me conditioning wise as well as loose skin in my lower abs.
    I'm not sure when I'll do my next show. Possibly as soon as the Midway in Wichita in May or may wait till this time next year with the All Star again or the OKC Grand Prix.