Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Timer DC Training Journal!

Hey everyone!

I will start with an introduction of myself (boring I know). My name is Jeremy and I am 22 years old. I have been lifting since I was 13 years old. Started in my basement with those old cement weights (I know some people know what I am talking about!) When I was 15 I joined my first gym, which was a mass monster gym in Stratford, Ontario. Some national level competitors and strongmen worked out there and they were all very friendly and helpful. I also did a lot of my own research and had diet plans, supplements, different training protocols even when I was just working out in the basement.

When I started I was 140lbs and one of those skinny fat kids, and took my weight up to 207lbs in January of this year. At that weight I was fairly high bodyfat however I had built quite a bit of strength. Here were some lifts:

Barbell Bench Press: 285lbs x 5
    Close Grip Bench: 235lbs x 5
    Deadlift: 385lbs x 5
    Squat: 275lbs x 5 (My squat has always been the weakest, working really hard to bring it up)

At that point I then started to diet down for my first natural bodybuilding show in June. I dieted for close to 6 months and went from 207lbs to 168lbs. I kept a lot of my strength and muscle mass and ended up placing first in my weight class.

My plans moving forward are to take as long of an "off season" as I need so that I can go back on stage a bigger and better package. I would like to compete again in November 2014, however if I need to take longer I will wait till the 2015 season.