Josh's 5x5

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Josh's 5x5

I've considered keeping a log for a while now, but I wanted to wait until I was sure I could fully commit, and not waste anyone's time. Just at the tail-end of a Masters degree (Education - I'm a primary school teacher), and between the travels (did the degree in Australia), thesis, limited funds, and a recurring back issue after getting hit from behind playing hockey a few years ago, I wasn't always able to make my way to a gym.

Anyways, won't waste any time here... I'm 28, 6'4, 215, and bodyfat's at roughly 15%. As of about five years ago, I was at 185, sub-10%, but that was with a lot of cardio and different goals; I'm looking to put some weight on my main lifts, particularly squat and bench, and while I'm all for leaning out a bit, that's not the primary goal. I've been going with a 5x5, pretty well following it as is for a few weeks, though I simply do one day on, one day off, and don't take weekends off. I also go on the rowing machine after each workout (1000m, try to improve on my time each week - currently at 3:30, and once I get to 3:00, I'll begin adding distance), do various core exercises (planks, ab wheel, etc.) as I just find it helps prevent any back issues, and a lot of SS cardio throughout the day (I'm also teaching, so I'm essentially always on my feet).

Here's Saturday's workout...

Squat:
    220 x 5
    220 x 5
    220 x 5
    220 x 5
    220 x 5

Bench:
    170 x 5
    170 x 5
    170 x 5
    170 x 5
    170 x 5

Row:
    170 x 5
    170 x 5
    170 x 5
    170 x 5
    170 x 5