Journey to my first meet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Journey to my first meet

I'm completely new to powerlifting but have decided that I want to give it a shot.

The meet that I'm planning on competing in is the 2012 WA State SPF Iron Quest on May 12th.

I'm 25 yo and currently weight 204... however, I've been sick with a stomach bug (pretty severe diarrhea, yeah probably TMI...) for the past 5 days and have basically only been eating toast. Before that I was sitting at 212. So I'm sure I'll gain that weight back. I plan on competing in the RAW Open 220 class.

I'll be using 5/3/1 starting Monday up until the meet. I got into the gym today for the first time in a week, and was feeling a bit weak still as I'm still recovering and today was the first day back to all of my meals.

Anyway, I wanted to see approximately where my lifts stand so I had my fiancee spot/judge me to make sure they were good lifts. Here is what I did today:

Bench Press
    Warm-ups
    275x1 - easy and clean, good lift
    305x1 - easy and clean, good lift
    325 - tough, spotter assisted early before failure, no good
    315x1 - tough but good lift

Squat
    Actually did box squats with a ~15in box and full sit
    Warm-ups
    315x1
    405x1
    455x1 - added belt and knee wraps

Deadlift
    405x1 - hook grip, good
    495 - hook grip, grip failed when bar reached my knees
    495x1 - added straps, good
    545x1 - straps and belt, it was a grinder but good

Total 1315 - I'm pretty happy with that considering I'm not back to full strength after being sick, and I'll use these maxes as a starting point for my 5/3/1 program. I've also got to work on my grip strength but I should be able to bring that up come meet time.

I'm hoping to total 1400+ at the meet.

2017 NPC National Championships Classic Physique, Class D - 4th Place
    2017 NPC New England Championships Classic Physique, Class C - 1st Place