DC Journey to the stage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DC Journey to the stage

It's been a very long time since i was a part of any sort of forum, but I absolutely love this site. I joined a few months back, after a close friend of mine began training DC style during his offseason. I had heard of it before, but never properly took the time to discover what it actually was. I cant begin to explain all the critical information that i have learned over the past few months scrolling through. That is what has lead me to start this. For me, it was amazing to see Dante's and DH's old posts and the value those posts still held today, and my hope is to be able to look back at this a few years down the road and see the journey I have been through.

For starters I'm 31. I've been lifting weights for 10 years, but i've only been truly training for 6 of those. I fell in love with bodybuilding in my early 20's, and quickly found myself looking at the guys that would lift heavy weight. Branch and Dusty were my favorites right off the bat. I was weighing 170 lbs then, and really was just weak and soft. All i wanted was to be big. About a year in of spinning my wheels, an old friend of mine opened his own powerlifting gym and urged me to join, noting all the great bodybuilders like branch, ronnie, etc all started as powerlifters. It would give me the opportunity to build my base and eat my face off to put on size and strength.

Being the competitive person i am, i wanted to be good, and strong. I spent 4 years eating anything and everything i could for sake of calories. For a solid 14 months I was consistently eating 8000 calories mainly of chicken and hamburger helper. Needless to say i gained weight, and not the good kind. At my heaviest, i was 287, and strong but fat as hell. I finally took a year and a half off due to a fracture to my humerus bone, and early last year i finally got my original love of bodybuilding reignited.