Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it a good idea to train muscles with a little DOMS?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it a good idea to train muscles with a little DOMS?

I've always thought it is best to wait until the muscles are fresh before training them again. However when I train my legs every 4 days now there is usually a bit of soreness there, and sometimes a bit of overlap from the previous workout (e.g. Biceps>Back and Deadlift>Lower Back and Hams).

I'm fairly new to DC, so just wondering what others would do. Train as planned or insert an extra rest day maybe?

Originally posted by pdiddy15 View Post
    I've always thought it is best to wait until the muscles are fresh before training them again. However when I train my legs every 4 days now there is usually a bit of soreness there, and sometimes a bit of overlap from the previous workout (e.g. Biceps>Back and Deadlift>Lower Back and Hams).

I'm fairly new to DC, so just wondering what others would do. Train as planned or insert an extra rest day maybe?
    In my opinion, wait the extra day. Im back on a new blast and my soreness is lasting longer so im taking the rest. 3 weeks from now, I will be back in the groove and my soreness will dissipate faster.

Comment

Thanks Colokrom

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Do some stretches on rest days as well.

It may be just me but my soreness is also my gauge for protein and water intake, if my soreness is hanging around I will make an effort to sneak in more animal protein and water....seems to have an affect.

Comment

Yep its not issue. DOMs and overall soreness is simply acid built up. Doesn't mean you shouldn't train

Comment

After a good training session, DOMS can last many days after the initial major elevation in protein synthesis is back to baseline (lasting only about 48hr or much less).