What am i doing wrong?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What am i doing wrong?

Hi all, I am currently 162.8pounds and around 6ft or 6ft 1. I lift 4 times a week. 2 on 1 off and then 2 on and weekend off.

Im 20 y/o and I have been lifting for 3 years but have gotten more serious about it in the last year or so.

I would say im skinny fat which frustrates me and I have tried cutting to lose the little belly I have but that wasn't a good Idea because it didn't work and I ended up losing a lot of muscle.

Anyway my calories at the moment are around 2400 approx. 190pro 40fat 280carbs on training days
    Non training days - 100-120carbs 190pro and 75fat

If I seem to up my carbs on training or non training days I seem to gain weight very easily which is confusing because im not even really in a surplus especially for my weight and height.

Could someone help me or head me in the right direction with some advice?

Thanks!!

What are your goals?
    The average silverback gorilla in the wild is between 5'7 and 5'11, and weighs between 298 and 397 pounds (according to wikipedia). Why not shoot for that?

-LoRez from T Nation

Comment

Thanks for looking

My goal is to build as much muscle as possible over the next year and a half or so and then do a cut to get shredded and bulk again.

Im currently gaining 0.4pounds approx a week on the current macros im on and i am getting stronger but it doesnt seem to show in the mirror i just look skinny fat and flat

Comment

I'll give you my $0.02 but take it with a grain of salt because there are a lot more people on here that are more qualified to answer than myself.

To make it simple: EAT MORE AND SLEEP MORE.

That being said, if you want to gain muscle then you need to eat. With that muscle will come some fat, that's just the way it is. Personally, I would aim to gain 1lb/week until you think it's too much. (Remember a grain of salt...I am a fat wannabe powerlifter that doesn't care about being shredded).