Relief for low back pain???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Relief for low back pain???

I have been battling a gimpy low back for several years. I have some herniated discs, degenerative disc disease and a case of scoliosis. It would kill me to stop lifting so I am working around the situation by drastically reducing my training poundage while drastically increasing my rep range. I am going to list some treatments I have used, provide some commentary and then seek input from you who are in the same boat (I am sure there are plenty of you out there). Hoping to find a gem out there.

1. Deep fiber massage. This one works the best for me. I am talking about the guy who uses his elbow to dig down and nearly bring you to tears. This has consistently worked for me but it is not covered by insurance. Fortunately I found a local guy who charges on 30 bucks for a full hour and he works you like a piece of veal.

2. Ice. Nothing fancy about this one. If I ice 30 minutes immediately upon waking I tend not to have any issues later.

3. Chiro adjustments. They SEEM to work but usually no immediate relief. When I really throw my back out, I can't even be adjusted until the muscles become less inflamed.

4. Stretching. This works but I am friggen lazy. The only time it REALLY works is when I am doing P.T. and someone is stretching me out. Left to my own devices, I tend to slack off and the abandon it altogether. I know this is one of the main reasons why I have problems. My hammys and hip flexors are tighter than violin strings.