Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you train "hard" without training to failure?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you train "hard" without training to failure?

I have always done medium to lower volume routine taking all work sets to "positive failure". I recently started training with john meadows doing mountain dog training, and I trust him 100%, but his style of training is different than what I am used. As most know, his training is high volume and he says majority of worksets are not taken to failure.

Since doing his routine I always feel like when I leave the gym that I didn't work hard enough because I am not taking all the work sets to failure. I've also noticed my apetite has gone down since starting his routine.

I know that training balls to the wall is the way to gain muscle and you should always train hard in the gym, but how do you do this when your not taking your sets to failure?

High reps (20-30) with heavy weight but not necessarily taken to failure.
    Minimal rest periods.
    Supersets/Giant Sets.
    Speed & Explosiveness work - Submaximal weight (in fact more like 50-60% of max) but with 100% force applied done in a low rep range, not taken to failure, many sets with minimal rest

With these methods, and I'm sure there are more ways that I'm not thinking of, you can hit it pretty hard without necessarily taking your sets to failure.
    Last edited by moco; 09-29-2012, 04:55 PM.

2017 NPC National Championships Classic Physique, Class D - 4th Place
    2017 NPC New England Championships Classic Physique, Class C - 1st Place
    2017 NPC East Coast Cup Classic Physique, Tall Class - 1st Place & Overall
    2015 Arnold Amateur Men's Classic Bodybuilding, Tall Class - 4th Place
    2013 NPC Europa Battle of Champions - 1st Place Novice Heavyweight, 2nd Place Open Light-Heavyweight

Comment