For the older lifters....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For the older lifters....

I've been lifting for over 20 years (I'm 36), used to compete in bodybuilding, and quite frankly, lifting is now hurting me - not that good hurt like the good old days of 20 rep squats, more along the lines of joint pain that makes lifting somewhat discouraging and demotivating.

I've done all the classic things like upping the rep ranges, cycling the weights, deloading, etc. But, now that I can't push myself like I used to, lifting is losing that special flair it used to have.

To the board: any of the older guys have a system they like a lot that's fun, challenging, not harsh on the joints, and retains some of the muscle that they spent years building? Just looking for new ideas...

Go read through Skip's blog on this site, his training protocol is pretty joint and body friendly.

Comment

I'm 50 and I've actually gone to lifting everyday. One squat, one pull and one press, and I go as heavy as I can for that day. I know it's counterintuitive, but really seems to help.

Comment

46 and everything always hurts

I just try not to do anything that hurts! I have incorp more GPP work in when I can during the week just lite tri sets of going thu motion stuff such as battle ropes, banded hi pulls, clean and presses light weight seems to keep me mobile
        If your not ripping a tendon your not working the muscle to its fullest capacity!

I just kinda feel if the weight wasn't so heavy, I could lift it:
        :bb::dancingna:bb::dancingna:bb::dancingna
        Living for the INSULIN SPIKE!

Comment

John meadows training is supposedly very joint friendly

Comment

I think most higher volume protocols are more "joint friendly". I know my protocol is not only joint friendly due to rep ranges and higher volume but also the variety of exercises I try to get, as well.