Finishing out my last week of Mountain Dog

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finishing out my last week of Mountain Dog

This is week 12 of Mountain Dog Training. This is definitely one of the more challenging programs I've used. I wanted to lay out what I believe are the strong points and weak points and answer any questions. Keep in mind this is my first 12 weeks with John so we haven't delved into bands or chains, and keep in mind I'm not an expert, but I can answer questions from a trainees point of view. The next phase is a band phase. So if you have any questions keep that in mind.

Advantages
    1. Keeps joints healthy- I can honestly say I have not had any joint pain throughout this entire program despite gutting out some of the hardest workouts I've even done.
    2. Every workout is different- Each time I got to the gym I was excited about training. This workout never gets boring. I never felt burnt out throughout the entire phase.
    3. The workout hits the muscle in so many ways the body is always guessing. You never feel like you are stalling out.
    4. The strength gains sneak up on you. Here is any example. I did 2 warmups on seated leg curls, then I did 3 work sets. Each set had a pause in the extended position for a second before performing the positive portion of the rep. This is a killer. Next I had to work up to several heavy sets of leg press. I ended up with 18 plates on the machine, which is heavier than most machines. Finally, I was supposed to hit 3 sets of squat with a weight that is my 15 rep max. I decided to pick 315. I was blown away about how light the weight felt after all of this. Every rep was explosive. In fact I felt a pump in my calves when the sets were done from coming off the ground.
    5. The workout focuses on areas that are often ignored by trainees such as hamstrings, and rear delts.
    6. Volume and Intensity is cycled keeping recovery in mind.

Disadvantages