No announcement yet.

Transitioning back into an athlete....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transitioning back into an athlete....

Hey guys.......I haven't been around much lately.......been busy with work and another baby.

Well, I'm looking for opinions on something. I'm sure I'm going to take heat for it, but I figured it was a discussion worth having.

This past year and half has been fairly eye opening in regards to my bodybuilding "hobby". I've spent the last 15 years (since I graduated high school) going down the traditional bodybuilding path. Trained my butt off, kept up with my steady-state cardio (for the most part), and ate what I needed to grow. I've always trained clean, and now that I'm 33, my growth potential is fading quickly. I'm now 6'-1" with a lean mass of somewhere around 200-210 lbs. (My current weight is WAY more than it should be!) I never competed, but looking back on it now, I can't say that I regret it like I thought I was going to. I'm perfectly content with what I've been able to do up to this point.

But....

As time goes on, I find myself being more motivated to transition into a more athletically-oriented path.

Now, don't get me wrong.....I don't want to wither myself down to a scrawny frame......I still want to hang onto what I have. But I think my paranoia of exerting myself too much when it comes to cardio is holding me back from enjoying other things in life. (This is probably true of alot of guys.)

I'm to the point where I really don't care all that much about growing anymore. (I probably couldn't squeeze much more out anyway.) Instead, I want to be able to run around the yard with my kids and not get winded within 5 minutes. I want to be able to hike up steep hills and keep up with people much smaller than me. I want to be able to help my brother coach the wrestling team and take part in the practices. That sort of stuff isn't fun when you're carry around alot of weight.....even if it is muscle.