American Pure Whey is American Pure Shit - from reddit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• American Pure Whey is American Pure Shit - from reddit

Just came across an interesting little post over at reddit.

I'm not a scientist, so no clue how accurate it is, but some guys might find it interesting that someone actually went and tested this and posted the results.

Here's the story link if you want to read it formatted correctly with pictures and links - http://www.reddit.com/r/Fitness/comm...can_pure_shit/

Hail Redditors, I come to you with news from [1] another forum. A guy named Zugzwang (cool as fuck) decided to bust science on American Pure Whey powder, after many suspicious bros wondered why it was A) so cheap and B) tasted so good. The results were interesting and as follows:
    Brothers, I have just returned from my laboratory dungeon and do not have good news regarding American Pure Whey. I need to formally work up the numbers, but a qualitative eyeballing of the results tells me that either I royally fucked up these two assays (not likely, considering I did 8 independent ones for four separate APW flavors) or there is far less protein in their powder than they claim.
    Here, see for yourselves. I've crudely labeled the wells on this plate for you. One of my assays basically makes the wells in this plate turn a dark color if there's protein in it, and the darker the well, the more protein there is. I tested blanks (buffer only, no protein), analytical-grade bovine serum albumin at 0.5, 1.0, 1.5, and 2.0 mg/mL, ON double rich chocolate (chosen because it's a whey product from a reputable company) at 0.5, 1.0, 1.5, and 3.0 mg/mL, and four separate APW flavors (cinnamon bun, strawberry, chocolate, and vanilla) at 1.0, 1.5, and 2.0 mg/mL. Now, those APW concentrations assumed that the values on the label (26 grams protein/33 grams powder) were reliable.