Smart Supplement Use

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smart Supplement Use

What do you consider to be "staple" supplements?

-(even though this isn't technically a supplement, more like food) Some type of whey isolate
    -creatine monohydrate
    -fish oil

There are another few that I am considering:

-bcaa's (such as Scivation Xtend) because I typically train on a fasted stomach. I typically have a dose 10 minutes pre-workout and then start drinking a post-workout shake consisting of whey and simple carbs half-way through the workout. Good idea?

-beta-alanine powder

thinking of adding this because I train fasted and have a busy/somewhat unpredictable schedule (college student). I think I could have better workouts more consistently using this supplement.
    ------

I'm spending money that I earned on this so it's not like finances are an immediate concern...but still, being a broke college student I am only interested in supplements that will give me a good return on my investment. Protein/supplements are so expensive these days

also do you guys recommend true protein for your protein, supplements, or neither?

Comment

Originally posted by bmp View Post
      also do you guys recommend true protein for your protein, supplements, or neither?
      I've done the math across all the products (that I use) on their website vs other top brands. Truenutrition always comes out on top, with the ingredients matching or surpassing that of the competition and with the price always lower (even without using the %5 discount code).

I used to use Xtend, as well, until I did the math on that, too. Truenutrition came up with more bcaa's per serving and 17 bucks cheaper than the leading competitor's price. 37.99 for 90 servings(TrueNutrition.com) VS 54.99 for 90 servings (bb.com)

TrueNutrition's BCAA Plus
      4g Instantized L-Leucine
      3g L-Glutamine
      2g L-Valine
      2g L-Isoleucine
      1g Citrulline Malate
      10mg Vitamin B-6

Xtend