Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wondering where to start

I posted my intro in the introductions, and got some great welcomes. Thanks

So, as I stated in there, I am basically a beginner again. 40 yrs old, 280ish and out of shape. I haven't lifted in more than 20 years. AFter lurking at bb.com and then here, I have pretty much become more confused about the state of lifting weights! It used to be simple for me way back in the day haha. Now I see crossfit, 5x5, 5/3/1, Westside, DC and even more. I literally have no idea where to start.

In the gym I see the trainers practically doing the same routines with every client. That seems wrong to me, cause how could every client be the same? I was thinking of hiring a trainer and spoke with one, and they pretty much told me that they follow a prescribed routine. I asked about about building muscle and they said that most clients only want to "tone" and lose weight. They don't really do much other than stand and watch their clients do some light weight, high rep stuff. And other stuff like jumping on these half ball things.

Anyhow, not really for me. I want to lift weights. Heavy ones. (well, I guess light to start lol) But where do I start? Do I go back to what I know, which was 4 or 5 times in the gym a week lifting. A day back then would be like:
    4 sets 8-10 bench
    4 sets 8-10 incl or dec bench,
    4 sets chest flyes,
    then another chest exercise.

Then shoulders, triceps and maybe pulldowns for back. That was one workout, and used to take forever. Reading on here has shown me that its probably not the best workout.

Anyhow, sorry for the long winded post, but I am really just confused as to where I should start. If you can point me in the right direction it would be much appreciated. I am not looking to be hand held, but I do need some kind of a starting point.