Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Swedish Meatball Gets better with Age...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Swedish Meatball Gets better with Age...

... and I'm not talking about a food item.

Thought I'd share some pics of a local friend of mine I've know for years, who we affectionately refer to as the Swedish Meatball. (He's originally from Sweden.)

Mike's a true veteran of the game, having competed in the 70's, the 80's, the 90's, the '00's and most recently 2011 at the crisp young age of 49 (I think). He's getting better with age.

Mike recently won the overall at the local NPC Tucson Terminator, the same show where Dave Henry's wife won the women's overall BB'ing. Mike and I have been competing together here in AZ for the past 9 years or so. We both moved here about the same time.

Mike's always been a Middleweight at all the shows I've seen him do. We'd talk about prep and strategies a good bit and I helped him drop his water a few times. Finally (at last), he put together a solid off-season and decided he wanted to give it a go with some of the main ideas I use for diet and especially how I carb folks up and help them drop water. I can't say I prepped him (otherwise I'd have had to have asked him to pay me... LOL), but I was happy as hell to see him come in over 10lb above his highest stage weight for at least a decade. (He's in the upper 180's here at 5'8".)

He blew some people's minds at this show with his conditioning and took the overall EASY. Mike's now a citizen of the U.S. and is gonna have a shot at the Master's Nat's pretty soon. (He'll have to wait until 2012 to turn 50 before the show.)

Enjoy the pics.

-S
    Attached Files
    The Book Has Arrived!
    The Book Has Arrived!

Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a pristine, well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, used up, worn out, and shouting, "Holy #$&^%$^... What a ride!!!"

www.TrueNutrition.com