Motivation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motivation

Was just running through some things for the past few days, been in one of those moods, can't lift, too damn sick with a sinus infection and feel drained, but...feeling better so tomorrow gonna give it a shot.

We all know we have to have a path in mind, an end goal in mind to push ourselves. If we just go in to the gym for the hell of it, we don't always push ourselves like we should. So, I wanted to start a thread on motivation, and what motivates you to get up off your ass, and do work. What really gets your blood pumping, and for those struggling, what made you turn things around and set your feet on the right track?

I'll start:
    For me, it's been several things in my life that have happened that made me really turn things around. It started back in high school. I played football 3 years, made varsity my sophomore year and stayed there until I graduated. Was always a very large kid. After graduation I kept the appetite and everything, just stopped the 2 a-day workouts, etc. Graduated in 2003 at 340lbs. In 2007, I stepped on a freight scale at work and saw 464. I re-calibrated the scale and it still read...464 pounds. I've dropped 160 pounds and still dropping. My mother passed away in March, factors: She was over 450lbs her entire adult life, she had type 2 diabetes, she had congestive heart failure, she had kidney failure, and horrible knees, always in pain. It was hard seeing her all of her adult life, and in her, I saw my future. It's a sad realization that you're setting yourself up on the same exact path as your mother. My brother, 36, passed away in August at over 330 pounds. He gained so much weight, his knees and everything were hurting so bad he started taking pain killer, mixed with alcohol, likely. So, weight was a factor, again. My oldest brother, over 400 pounds at this time, has struggled with weight, knee problems, venous stasis wounds. Luckily, he's doing better with