Lateral Raises on lower day?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lateral Raises on lower day?

Hey guys, I have never done lateral raises before and it shows...I have strong rear/front delts, but the sides are really lacking. My upper body day is getting too crowded and I am not sure I want to stick them there..

Here is my routine.

Upper ("/" means I rotate every other time)
    Chest: BB Incline/DB Flat : 2 sets
    Shoulders: Seated DB/Seated BB: 2 sets
    Vertical Pull: Chins / Neutral pulls: 2 sets
    Horizontal Pull: Pendlays / DB Rows: 2 sets
    Triceps: Skulls: 1 set
    Biceps: Incline DB Bench: 1 set

Lower
    Quads: Squats/Leg Press/DB Walking Lunges. Squats/Press are 1 heavy, 1 widow. Walking Lunges are 2 straight.
    Hams: Lying Leg Curls/ Lying Leg Curls/ Deadlifts. Leg curls are 3 sets RPed. Deads are 1 heavy, 1 10-12 reps.
    Calves: Seated/Standing/Seated. DC Style
    Abs: Ab Roller generally. 3 sets of 15-20.

On a 3 way rotation with some movements on lower day to spare my lower back. Basically goes deads, leg press, squat for the heavy movement rotation.

I used to have biceps on my lower body day at 2 sets...but I saw zero gains, so I moved that movement to upper day at only 1 set. So now my upper day is a little overly packed vs lower....

I really want to mix lateral raises in, but I am not sure where. My three ideas were:

1) Just add 1 set of lateral raises to upper body day.
    2) Take away 1 shoulder press set and add 1 lateral raise set.
    3) Add 2 sets of lateral raises to lower body day.

Right now I am on an every other day routine and have been making nice gains, so I really don't want to mess with it too much. Which is kind of leading me to option number 2. But I wanted to hear your advice. Thanks.
    Last edited by SkinnyMike42; 06-02-2011, 10:19 AM.