Would this count as periodization & does it have a place in Bodybuilding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would this count as periodization & does it have a place in Bodybuilding

I've been lifting for several years and have usually had two separate routines, which I switch back and forth from. I go 8 weeks on one routine, then take a week off (deload) in order to recover, and then start up my second routine for another 8 weeks. This cycle then continues indefinitely. The only difference in the two routines though is a change in exercises. For example, I'll swap between Back Squats and Front Squats, or perhaps Deadlifts and Rack Pulls, Barbell Bench and Dumbbell Bench etc. I figured this would be enough of a change to prevent stagnation and muscle adaption from occuring as I'm providing a new stimulus for my body to adapt to.

Recently though I've been reading up on periodization, and although it seems to be more for powerlifters, olympic weightlifters and people training for a specific competition in their sport, I figured it may be useful in Bodybuilding. The reason is, when using periodization there is almost an in built method for preventing adaptation due to the different "blocks" provided in the routine which all focus on training in different ways.