Internet: Rise Of The Food Nazi

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Internet: Rise Of The Food Nazi

I just had an incident yesterday after I posted a couple of pics on my business Facebook page. ( I run a bootcamp style group training business)

I always shake my head when people come out of the woodwork to comment on something like they are the gurus of nutrition. Now I'm no expert, and certainly don't claim to be. I don't hold a degree in nutrition or dietetics. But I love the field and find it fascinating, and love to share with my clients what has worked for me from what I've learnt over the last couple of years.

I posted a quick recipe idea I got from a Youtube guy Derek Howes. It was cottage cheese with some jelly crystals. I used lite aeroplane jelly for the example.

An ex client tagged her current PT asking her opinion. I then get 2 girls claiming crap food, "I thought you were promoting good food", chemicals are bad comments. One of them posts a link to a woman's site about jelly being the worst chemical laden food on supermarket shelves. WTF? By the way, this woman's website had no mention of her being a dietitian or nutritionist whatsoever.

Which brings me to the title of my thread. Food nazis. It seems every person with an internet connection who reads a couple of nutrition sites now feel the need to offer their opinion. Not knocking Paleo, but just from observation it seems a lot of paleo dieters are notorious for this. Their soap box seems to be incredibly high!

What's the dumbest thing you've heard either online or in person, someone say regarding diet? And also, have you ever gotten into an argument with these nazis?