Unemployement hits Family members

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unemployement hits Family members

Background: I am a US Marine veteran and put myself with help of the PRE 9/11 GI Bill through college with three degrees (1 x BA, 1 x BS, and 1x MS) and I'm currently working on my Doctorate. I've been gainfully employeed since before the recession with a Fortune 100 company. I am the oldest son and the fourth oldest of 5 children.

Why did I give you background? Because my three older sisters only 1 of whom has graduated with a BS in Broadcast Management are all struggling right now. My younger brother, has a job in IT within the medical industry. The other two sisters one is a realtor (who literally has 4 mortgages) and the other is a wine barista. The reason I'm posting is because my sister is in the process of getting her home forclosed on, her heat has been turned off, and she's been on umeployment for 22 weeks now. Anywho, I offered to use my connections to get her "any" job I could. I even offered to have my HR department and myself revamp her resume so that she could be more appealing (her resume was cut and paste from a word template). She boldly and arrogantly told me that she can't take "any" job and that would be career sucide. Now I don't know much about Broadcast media, but to me, if you have a ANY job in one hand and demotion but no job in the other and that's all you can get, you take the the job because it's money. She told me it was below her.

Am I the only one who thinks this is completely CRAZY? I mean seriously if you're sleeping in your foreclosed house by the oven to keep warm don't you give up the right to be picky about what job you have???

Thanks guys and gals,
    JT
    Respectfully Submitted,
    JT

Proud to be a DH Disciple
    http://www.dustyhanshaw.com

www.jamestucci.blogspot.com

Originally posted by James Tucci View Post