Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tax question.

What's going on.
    Question (of course ill get my taxes done by a pro but am looking to gain some insight as to if I may run the risk of paying taxes this year) it's my first year filing since my divorce and ill be filing single so I'm kinda shaky on it. Let me give some close hypothetical numbers to give me a little insight.

Lets say I made:
    $50,000 last year
    I am going to claim a dependent under the age of 16
    I paid apprx 7,500 in taxes
    - 3300 fed
    - 1800 soc
    - 1600 state
    - 700 medi

4,000 into my health plan (pre tax)

I invest in my 401k

Bought a new car (if that matters)
    Do not own a home

Any insight would be appreciated (especially knowing I'm going into the holiday season- may have to cheapen the gifts a little)

Thanks!

Honestly, I don't think anyone can know for sure. It's all in the air right now what will happen. This is what they call "economic uncertainty" and it's another slowing mechanism on the economy? Why? Because of what you just described- not knowing if you can spend your money or not.

Personally, I'd count on them going up and consider it a small, temporary miracle if they don't.

Comment

Sounds like a plan. Sucks not really knowing. Just getting ready for the potential payment I may have to make

Comment

As thuggish said it is hard to answer accurately, however in the example the fed taxes is not even 10% of the income and that could be a big problem.

IRS has a calculator that works pretty good IRS-Withholding-Calculator

Comment