Lifting and Basketball.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lifting and Basketball.

I didn't see much mentioned in the intro post about basketball training but I'm assuming y'all can help. I love both lifting and bball and have yet to find a real good balance between the two. Lately, I've been doing DC and love it, but I'm sore as all hell on it and miss playing ball, so I'm thinking about dropping DC because a) I'm not a bodybuilder and while in a sick way I enjoy DC, it's not the best choice for me and b) recovery while doing DC and playing bball is gonna be terrible and I'll likely burn out. I'm gaining strength on the routine consistently but practically speaking, it's just not for someone like me. The eating requirements are insane and I just don't have it in me.

On the basketball front, I'm not a pro or anything, but I play in an annual league as well as pickup, so when I'm actually playing it's ~ 3/week. What is your approach when you're training guys with basketball? If it helps, my combined goals are as follows: Physique-wise, my goal is to be 195-200lb at 7-8%BF, this morning I weighed in at 188 @10-12% BF, so I'm not THAT far off. I'm 5"8, btw. Lifting-wise I want to be able to put up 315 bench/ 405 squat/ 5 wheel trap-bar dead. I'm not that far off that total right now. My estimated 1RMs are 265/400/495. I'm gonna try out some maxes as soon as I finish up this round of my current DC blast, which I'm pretty sure will be my last. Those estimated 1RM's were calculated here, and I don't know how accurate they are but I'll find out soon enough. Basketball-wise, I'd like to improve athletically AMAP but my deep-down goal is to maybe dunk one day, or get as close as possible.

****BTW, if this type of information is something that I need to pay for, I understand. If not, any advice on putting together a routine that could help me on the way to both of those goals would be greatly appreciated!!